Live Training

Online but In Depth:

Grief Therapy in A Telehealth World

Earn Credit for 1 Practicum Module toward

Certification in Grief Therapy as Meaning Reconstruction or

Certification in Grief Therapy for Non-Death Losses

Offered by the Portland Institute.

January 21, 2021

9-11am, PST

or

January 25, 2021

9-11am, SGT

Presented by

Robert A. Neimeyer, PhD

Director

Portland Institute for Loss and Transition

Emeritus Professor

Department of Psychology, The University of Memphis

USD$99 for 3-hour module

You’ve moved your therapy online, but have you sacrificed the depth and nuance of in-person practice, substituting psychoeducation, simple support and advice for the deeper, more emotion-focused work that grieving clients commonly require?  In this presentation, we explore the surprising benefits of online therapy for supporting evocative experiential interventions in grief therapy and demonstrate their use in video recordings of specific creative techniques.  Beginning with a conceptualization of grieving as a process of reaffirming or reconstructing a world of meaning that has been challenged by loss, we emphasize the practice of presence as the essential precondition to “going deep,” whether we encounter our clients in our offices or on a screen.  Working with both the choreography and staging of online therapy and the cultivation of mindfulness on the part of both therapist and client, we will consider how to construct a holding environment or secure base for accessing, symbolizing, voicing and transforming emotionally resonant meanings of mourning that foster felt shifts in how clients hold their grief, and how their grief holds them.

At a time when humanity is swimming in a sea of loss, whether arising from bereavement or the collateral damage to once secure roles and resources resulting from the pandemic, developing deeper competencies in working with grief is essential to therapists of all theoretical orientations.  This module is designed to offer practical guidelines and to model interventions that support this goal.

LEARNING OBJECTIVES

  • List four guidelines for effective use of technology to enhance personalism in telehealth;

  • Identify distinct advantages of online therapy with special relevance to the bereaved;

  • Distinguish between states of therapeutic presence and absence, on the part of both client and therapist; and

  • Describe procedures for Analogical Listening to the somatic felt sense of a client’s grief, in a way that promotes its articulation and evolution.

COURSE PACK PROVIDES

  • PDF of all slides included in the presentation;

  • Clinician’s Toolboxes with Technical Tips for increasing client engagement and addressing therapeutic goals;

  • Detailed instructions for the use of Analogical Listening to access somatic and emotional processing of loss; and

  • Rubrics for brief reflective writing that, upon completion, confers credit of 1 Practicum Module leading to Certification in Grief Therapy as Meaning Reconstruction (3 hours total activity, including 2-hour webinar and approximately 1-hour reflection).

WEBINAR TIMING

  • 9-11am, PST: Portland, OR, which corresponds to 12-2pm in New York, 5-7pm in London, and 6-8pm in Amsterdam.

  • 9-11am SGT: Singapore, which corresponds to 10am-12pm in Tokyo, and 12-2pm in Sydney and Melbourne.

The Zoom meeting link and the module materials will be emailed to all registrants in due course.

GRIEF TRAINING FACULTY​

Presenting Faculty

Robert A. Neimeyer, PhD is Professor Emeritus of the Department of Psychology, University of Memphis, maintains an active consulting and coaching practice, and also directs the Portland Institute for Loss and Transition.  Neimeyer has published 30 books, including Routledge’s series on Techniques of Grief Therapy, and serves as Editor of Death Studies. The author of over 500 articles and chapters and a popular workshop presenter, he is currently working to advance a more adequate theory of grieving as a meaning-making process.  In recognition of his contributions, he has been given Lifetime Achievement Awards by both the Association for Death Education and Counseling and the International Network on Personal Meaning.

Robert A. Neimeyer, PhD

USD$99 for 3-hour module

For other enquiries, simply email Carolyn.

© 2021 by Portland Institute